What Does It Mean To Be Humble?

I recently responded to a questionnaire that asked, “What does it mean to be humble and where are you in the process of developing humility?” Here’s my response:

Humility is grounded in truth: Truth about who I am and what I can do and truth about who others are (especially God) and what they can do.

Thus says the LORD, “Let not a wise man boast of his wisdom, and let not the mighty man boast of his might, let not a rich man boast of his riches; but let him who boasts boast of this, that he understands and knows Me, that I am the LORD who exercises lovingkindness, justice and righteousness on earth; for I delight in these things,” declares the LORD.                             – Jeremiah 9:23-24 (NASB)

Humility builds on a proper perspective of who we are, what we can do, and what we have versus who God is, what He can do, and what He has.  His glory is far more important than my happiness or success, and He is delighted when I know and understand Him so that He can exercise His lovingkindness, justice, and righteousness through me for others.  I must humbly exemplify His love by putting others ahead of myself. (Phil 2:3-4)

Where am I? If God gave me the offer He gave Solomon to ask for any one thing, I would ask for humility. I am incapable of creating it on my own. Humility comes from being close to God and it enables closeness to God.  I would say I am more humble than in the past, but far short of where I need and want to be.

Leave a Reply

