Who’s Responsible?

Does God want all Christians to vote the same way? I doubt it. A landslide Christian endorsement of either presidential candidate probably isn’t healthy. Daniel 2:21 tells us that He — not us — establishes and removes kings (and presidents, I believe). But God’s interest in our voting goes deeper than just who gets into office.

Sometimes God gives his people what they ask for, like with Saul or repeatedly in Judges where God responded to the cries of His people. Sometimes He gives us what we deserve; like in Judges where evil behaviors repeatedly led to captivity or evil leadership. Since God looks at our hearts (1 Sam 16:7), why we choose matters more to God than what/who we choose.

God’s purpose in everything is to reveal His glory. He wants to bless us, but He won’t compromise His glory. His holiness requires consequences when we don’t honor Him.

The promise God made to Israel in 2 Chronicles 7:14 captures a theme apparent throughout scripture. It reveals how God wants His people to engage with Him and how He’ll respond:

…if my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land. (ESV)

My people who are called by my name…i.e. we who call Him our God. In the context of America today, it’s not a call to all Americans, it’s a call to God’s people in America. So what does He expect of us? Humble ourselves…pray…seek His face…turn from our wicked ways.

It’s not a call for non-Christians to act Christianly, it’s a call for Christians to act Christianly. By doing this, God’s people bring about blessings on our land. By not doing it, we’re restraining God’s blessings from our land. Yes, I am saying that I believe it is sinful Christians in America, not the lost sinners around us who are responsible for the decay of our nation.

I’ve never been a very patriotic person, nor interested in politics. As a citizen of God’s Kingdom, why care about this earthly nation? But that doesn’t align with the sense of national loyalty found in scripture. God gives man stewardship over the earth and then puts us into specific contexts of nations and communities where we can live out that stewardship. The crisis of character in this presidential election has awakened me to my responsibility. I am grieved to realize that God is giving us what we (American Christians) deserve rather than what we desire.

If you already spend more time humbling yourself, praying for our nation, and seeking God’s face than talking about how bad America’s becoming, then Thank you! I confess that I have not. But I’m committed to turn from my wicked ways of seeking solutions from men. I intend to humble myself, pray, and seek God. Then vote.

If you’re willing to stand with me in that commitment, I would love to hear from you.

3 thoughts on “Who’s Responsible?

  1. I fail daily and never want to be a Pharisee when it comes to my walk. I have made the pledge (my faith votes) to allow the Holy Spirit to guide my vote in this upcoming election. The more un-Christ-like the leaders become the more it appears that we have strayed from His path. I will pray that the body of Christ unites and turns from our evil ways.

    Like

Leave a Reply

